Lighting research

As you can gather from the title this research  is going to be about lighting, and how producers and cinematographers use lighting to show the audience different information, like types of characters, and also to give them warnings of things that might be coming up in the plot, like a darkening of light before a fight scene. For this research I firstly headed to the internet, and and then to a trusted book. I adding all the information I found to a mind map, all in different colours, so I could reference the different sources effectively.

IMG_2821.jpg

From this research into lighting in film, I found evidence which back up my observations from the film, as you will see from my mind map the information overall states that along with making the scene visible to the audience lighting can also be used to change the audiences emotion, and warn them of upcoming events in the film, like dark lighting would cause uneasiness in the audience, and give them a feeling like something bad was going to happen. Something else that is mentioned in what I found is how lighting can also make the audience feel a certain way about a character, or change their idea on them. In my essay I am going to talk about what I have found, and how it relates to the film I am looking at (Legend). I will use the scene from the film where Reggie finds out he has to go to prison whilst at his club with Francis, his girlfriend. As he finds out, and on the arrival at the prison, colours turn more grey, and the scene becomes darker, forewarning the audience of something bad that was going to occur, in this scene it was him being beaten up by the prison guards on his arrival, along with the sad departure between him and Francis. In my essay by using this scene I will explain and demonstrate how the research applies to the film I am looking into.

Red: Hub.fullsail.edu. (2019). Five Films That Use Lighting Creatively to Tell the Story – The Hub. [online] Available at: https://hub.fullsail.edu/articles/five-films-that-use-lighting-creatively-to-tell-the-story [Accessed 18 Jan. 2019].

Purple: updates., L., Us, C., Form, F., Filmmaking, N., Filmmaking, D., Filmmaking, E., iBasics, S., Structure, 3., Structure, I., Arc, C., Backstory, E., Character, M., Basics, C., Field, D., >>, E., F-Number), A., Speed, S., >>, C., Sizes, S., Angles, C., Moves, C., Lenses, T., Crew, T., Basics, D., Basics, E., Cutting), P., Effect, K., Transitions, T., Shots, R., Moura, G., Sherwood, D., Moura, G., shakil, u., Moura, G., Moura, G., Muhumuza, M., Ehrlich, S., Hermida, F., Moura, G., Hermida, F., Moura, G., Quindy, T., Moura, G., jain, C., Moura, G., Moura, G., Gajapure, V., adepoju, k., (Montreal), R., Moura, G., Strnad, L., Moura, G., Moura, G. and Badzlina, L. (2019). Mise-en-scène. [online] Elementsofcinema.com. Available at: http://www.elementsofcinema.com/directing/mise-en-scene-in-films/ [Accessed 18 Jan. 2019].

Green: Nicholas, J. and Price, J. (1999). Advanced studies in media. Walton-on-Thames: Nelson.

Leave a comment